2024 Bunny Bowl

Metedeconk River YC turned a bad forecast into a great regatta.

The wind forcast in the river for today kept six guys from showing up. Steve Blisnuk promised us the night before they were prepared to make this regatta work by staying out of the white capped river. RC made the great decision to move the venue east to the marina by the Pt Pleasant bridge with a long wide dock which made life terrific. The dock was parallel to the course so the skippers could follow their boats which kept the boat contact to a minimum.

C and D sails were used back and forth with no excessive chop……and they got in 12 windwards-leeward heats, with everyone sailing eight. They sailed all 12 in succession using the 3 fleet concept, called it a day, and then we had a gorgeous lunch back at MRYC with the bar open.

Prize awards right after lunch and everyone was happy for a successful race day and on the road just after 3:00PM.

Place Skipper Points
1 Frank Scalisi 17
2 Brendan Hogan 21
3 Dan Vought 23
4 Stuart Challoner 27
5 Tom Solas 29
6 Will Demand 32
7 John Kirk 32
8 Glenn Chalder 35
9 Tom Bird 36
10 Steve Blisnuk 39
11 Paul Scalisi 41
12 Dom Bonanno 46
13 Bob Shapiro 55
14 Roy Woodford 61
15 Bill Sysyn 62
16 Yair Frankel 70
17 Russ Schon 75
18 Bruce Perkins 92