Announcing RC Laser National Championship Early Entrants

Countdown To RC Laser Nationals: Early Entries Announced

The 2014 RC Laser National Championship is in the final countdown and a top competitive fleet is shaping up to the be the best ever. 2013 champion and class builder, Jon Elmaleh, is slated to defend and the top guys he defeated last year (Rob Seidelmann, Jim Kaighin, Don Barker, Jamey Betz and Roger Vaughan) are back for another shot at the championship. Added to the field this year are several other AMYA champions from other classes who want to come to Tred Avon YC in Oxford, MD because they know it’s a great venue for open water sailing with a terrific RC boat. Participants are coming from AL, DE, MD, NC, NY, NJ, PA, RI, TN, TX and the Bahamas. This is the widest state representation we have seen for a major championship in the RC Laser Class. Regatta Chairman and AMYA Class Secretary, Nick Mortgu, has also nabbed Dave Brawner, AMYA President, as returning RD with Ken Shaw and Skip Hall as his able lieutenants. This group could be labeled the most professional race committee team in our hobby.Festivities begin for early arrivals with practice racing, boat inspection, registration Friday afternoon, October 24th, followed by a “dutch” Tred Avon YC party, “Sails and Tales” for all entrants and their guests at 5:30pm in the upstairs bar.

Saturday and Sunday are the competitive racing days as racing gets underway both days after the 9:30am skippers meeting. Saturday night’s dinner is always first class at Tred Avon and again, they will not disappoint.

For those of you late comers who can fit this event in your schedule, the NOR, Sailing Instructions, Registration and housing information link is here and there is room for you on the starting line:

Here’s the entry list as of October 13th:

Roger Baldwin Easton, MD
Don Barker Chestertown, MD
Jamey Betz Meadowbrook , PA
Luke Betz Meadowbrook, PA
Dave Branning Tilghman, MD
Hank Buchanan New York, NY
Jim Craft Bethpage, TN
Jon Elmaleh Brooklyn, NY
Bill Ewing Red Bank, NJ
Rick Ferguson Raleigh, NC
Jim Flach Pottstown , PA
Corthan Harris Wilmington, NC
Sam Harris Raleigh, NC
Jim Kaighin Marsh Harbor, BH
Nick Mortgu Riverton, NJ
Harry Mote Barnegat, NJ
Jim Myers Warwick, RI
Victor Oberg Westmont, NJ
Dave Ramos Stevensville, MD
Terry Rapp Cinnaminson, NJ
Mark Rinehart Middletown, DE
Mike Roberson Raleigh, NC
Ray Sculzcewski Cape May, NJ
Rob Seidelmann Collingswood, NJ
Ray Seta San Antonio, TX
Ron Stephanz Madison, AL
Ryckman Walbridge Oxford, MD

The Beautiful RC Laser National Championship Trophy

The Beautiful RC Laser National Championship Trophy