2022 Hangover Cup Report

The 11th annual Hangover Cup Regatta attracted 11 RC Laser skippers and consisted of 11 races at the Wendell Falls Pond in Wendell, North Carolina on 1/1/2022.

The weather was usually warm with temps in the 70s and mostly sunny. The blustery wind oscillated from SW to SSW with a few where’d-the-wind-go lulls and many more knock-me-down puffs. There was no such thing as the “right” sail selection. It was more a matter of which sail was right most of the time and would do the least damage in the puffs and lulls. Skippers tried A, B and C sails with B being the most right most of the time. The wind direction was perfect for the Wendell Falls Pond, allowing for a nice two-lap windward leeward course. All in all, it was a beautiful day for sailing!

Jacques Rioux, who is recovering from knee surgery, showed up unannounced and proceeded to run the races and keep score. This was HUGE help and allowed the fleet to race more. On behalf of the whole fleet – thank you!

The racing was challenging due to the shifty winds. However, the shifty winds made the racing exciting with places gained and lost all around the course. At times it was hard to avoid collisions and we had a few. Many penalty turns were done.

Michael Roberson won the day with 10 clean starts out of 11 races and five 1st place finishes. Last year’s winner and four-time Hangover Cup champion, Tom Rummage, was second. Gerry Cobley was third.

Thanks to the Wendell Falls neighborhood and the Farmhouse Café for allowing use of their pond and facilities. Several of us arrived early and enjoyed an excellent breakfast.

Class: RC Laser
Date: January 1, 2022
Location: The pond at Wendell Falls, NC
Number of entries: 11
Winds: SW and SSW, shifty and very gusty
Races completed: 11
Scoring system: Low point, 1 throw out per 6 races
Race Director: Jacques Rioux

Place Skipper Points
1 Michael Roberson 16
2 Tom Rummage 23
3 Gerry Cobley 40
4 Sam Bigelow 43
5 Tony Corkell 45
6 Chase Thomas 46
7 Jerry Thompson 64
8 Herb Roy 83
9 Kelly Hemphill 88
10 Bob Daubert 92
11 Brian Bennett 105

Hangover Cup Winners and Locations, 2012-2022
2012 – Bob Szczepanski, Pullen Park, Raleigh
2013 – Nick Mortgu, Meridian Business Center, Durham
2014 – Bob Szczepanski, Lake Raleigh, Raleigh
2015 – Tom Rummage, Carolina Lake, Carolina Beach
2016 – Tom Rummage, Carolina Yacht Club, Wrightsville Beach
2017 – Michael Roberson, Lake Crabtree, Raleigh
2018 – Gerry Cobley, Bass Lake Park, Holly Springs
2019 – Michael Roberson, Edenton Harbor, Edenton
2020 – Rick Ferguson, Lake Wheeler, Raleigh
2021 – Tom Rummage, Lake Crabtree and Silver Lake, Raleigh
2022 – Michael Roberson, Wendell Falls, Wendell