Alamo Classic Regatta

This was Texas’ first RC Laser regatta and sailors came from Corpus Christi, Dallas, Austin and San Antonio to join the Woodlawn Sailing Club fleet for a fun time. The weather was absolutely beautiful with temperatures in the mid 70’s and winds 8-15 all day which gave the sailors a chance to use both A and B sails. A total of 16 races were sailed with the top 6 skippers each winning one or more race. Mark Cooper, from Houston, served as Race Director and with his assistant, Marty Giblin, kept the races running smoothly.

Will Rottgerring finished first in Gold followed closely by Eric Gregory and Budman Garcia respectively. Bob Piper won the Silver fleet with Mike Causey second followed by Mauricio Dantas third. A special “Never Say Die” award was presented to Theresa Meyer.

To keep in tune with the well known motto of the WSC, that “no one goes away hungry”, a Texas style barbecue was served up at which RC Laser parts were raffled off, donated by SailRC. A special thanks goes out to the cooks, Tony Seta and Robert McGonigle, and kitchen helpers, Ray Mireles, Sylvia Diamayuga, Joshua Seta, John and Debbie Kelsey.

Ray Seta, our current AMYA President, has sold over 20 RC Lasers in Texas to make it the fastest growing area for RC Lasers in the country.

Place Skipper Points
1 Will Rottgerring 30
2 Eric Gregory 32
3 Budman Garcia 34
4 JK 48
5 Ray Seta 49
Place Skipper Points
1 Bob Piper 30
2 Mike Causey 74
3 Mauricio Dantas 84
4 Vicki Stones 93
5 Jim Smith 111
6 Theresa Meyer 112