Dave Brawner wins 2016 Snowbird Tune-Up Regatta

South Regional County Park, Punta Gorda, FL
March 3, 2014

What started out as a tune-up day for some New Jersey and Maryland RC Laser sailors a few years ago is now one of the most popular regattas at Sun Coast Model Yacht Club’s sailing site in Punta Gorda, FL. This regatta is the third regatta in the four regatta RC Laser Southern Circuit that ends this weekend with the 2 day Mid-Winter Championship in Marco Island.

The day’s winds were light and fickle for the morning’s seeding race. After a brief break for lunch the winds settled in for a good 10 knot breeze from the southwest. Race Director Art Hawes set a long two lap course that gave all the skippers a good weather leg. Dave Brawner, one of the Jersey boys, sailed to win the regatta with four first place finishes with a total of 11 points, beating second place finisher Dave Ramos from the Chesapeake who finished with 20 points and had three first place finishes. Not far behind was Nick Mortgu, another Jersey boy placing third with one win and a total of 23 points. Rounding out the top five in the Gold Fleet was fourth place Alan Perkins of The Villages with 25 points and fifth place Jim Kaighin from Marsh Harbour, Bahamas with 28 points.

In the silver fleet another Jersey boy, Jim Flach with three first place finishes took fleet honors with 21 points. Following in second was Janice Anderson, a local Punta Gorda sailor with 26 points and a first place finish. After a tie breaker Chris Dingle of St. Pete finished third.

This regatta would not be possible without the awesome support of the Sun Coast Model Sailing Club.


Place Skipper Points
1 Dave Brawner 11
2 Dave Ramos 20
3 Nick Mortgu 23
4 Alan Perkins 25
5 Jim Kaighin 28
6 Rob Seidelmann 31
7 Doug Hawksworth 39
8 Jamie Betz 44
9 Rocky Cale 51
10 Ray Szulczewski 58
11 Larry Lefczik 58
12 Steve Lippincott 58
13 Jack Ward 58
14 Richard Flach 69
15 Dave Martens 88
Place Skipper Points
1 Jim Flach 21
2 Janice Anderson 26
3 Chris Dingle 37
4 Jamie Brickell 37
5 Dave Horthrop 43
6 Victor Oberg 43
7 Fred DeSantis 47
8 Roger Baldwin 48
9 Bill Sysyn 51
10 Harry Henkel 57
11 Frank Vella 59
12 Frank Sreffens 66
13 Hal Steward 69
14 David Shaw 71
15 Tim Freeman 75
16 Joan Lefczik 85