2015 AMYA RC Laser National Championships

The 2015 AMYA Sanctioned RC Laser National Championships was hosted this year by The Villages Model Yacht Squadron in Florida on January 17-18 and it was a nice warm break for the many skippers who travelled from the cold north. Skippers travelled from MI, TX, NJ, NY, MD, AL, Bahamas and all points of the compass in Florida to compete in the two day championships.

The weather and wind was the best seen at Ashland Pond in The Villages for many a regatta with 5-10 mph from the East on Saturday and turning due West 5-10 with gusts for Sunday. Most competitors will be returning home with the beginning of a nice sun tan.

32 skippers raced Saturday using Odd/Even scoring. Racing was very close and competitive with eleven skippers from the 32 getting line honors. Top five Saturday evening being Dave Ramos (2014 Champ), Dave Brawner, Alan Perkins, Ron Stephanz and Jim Kaighin.

Sunday dawned with the wind now in the West directly down the lake enabling Race Director Ricky Gerry to set the perfect course up and down the lake. The fleet now split into two based on the overnight score raced in the Gold and Silver fleets for the Championships.

Racing in the Gold fleet was very competitive with Dave Brawner digging himself out of some amazing situations to overtake Dave Ramos and Jon Luscomb coming back from 6th overall Saturday evening taking third, Jim Kaighin also showing his true form coming 4th whilst Ron Stephanz 5th and Alan Perkins 6th dropped back in the gusty conditions.

Similar close racing took place in the Silver fleet with 5 different skippers taking line honors. The overnight order changed dramatically for Steve Lippincott having a disastrous Sunday dropping from 1st overnight to 11th However Theresa Gay showed the guys the way home with a very steady series of results followed by Jack Ward, Don Harthorn and Henry DeWolf.

Special awards went to Theresa Ray Gay for first Place Women, Henry DeWolf first Place Ancient Mariner, Raffle winner: Dave Brawner, (New RC Laser), Henery DeWolf (Free registration for 2016 RC Laser NCR).

Summary of 2015 RC Laser National Championships.

Date: January 17-18, 2015
Location: The Villages, Florida
Host Club: The Villages Model Yacht Squadron #220 www.TVMYS.org
Entries: 32
Winds: 5-15 mph
Races completed: 16
Scoring System: Odd/Even Sat and Low point Sunday

Race Committee: Alan Perkins Commodore, Ricky Gerry RD, Thomas Lang/ Judy Clarke Scorekeepers, Jim Kelly, Dodie Devine, Jim Merello Finish, Dan Pearce and John Geib Rescue, Brian Engle Protest and Liz Perkins Catering plus numerous TVMYS helpers
Support: Beth Lippincott and Nick Mortgu

Gold Fleet
Place Skipper Points
1 Dave Brawner 32
2 Dave Ramos 50
3 Jon Luscomb 56
4 Jim Kaighin 62
5 Ron Stephenz 69
6 Alan Perkins 75
7 Scott Loesel 87
8 Albert Ross 95
9 Nick Mortgu 100
10 Ray Seta 101
11 Dennis Lang 102
12 Myles Loesel 111
13 Calvin Obara 115
14 Rocky Cale 118
15 Steve Lang 122
16 Dave Branning 133
Silver Fleet
Place Skipper Points
1 Theresa Gay (First Lady) 90
2 Jack Ward 94
3 Don Harthorn 97
4 Henry DeWolf 97
5 Larry Lefczik 98
6 Steve Kenoyer 102
7 Frank Vella 113
8 Joe Devine 116
9 Tom Lucke 127
10 Mike Campbell 130
11 Steve Lippincott 133
12 Jim Deseno 139
13 Steve Hopkins 156
14 David Martens 164
15 Joan Lefczik 197
16 Jake Leo Sat only