2020 Annual Saltwater Challenge RC Laser Regatta Report

By Michael Causey

The Coastal Bend MYC hosted our annual February regatta, with plenty of help from Woodlawn Sailing Club, Corpus Christi Yacht Club, and the Corpus Christi Marina Staff. Again we selected the increasingly popular “Sailing Stadium” in the beautiful downtown marina here in Corpus Christi. It was a true Region 5 Championship, with 18 skippers from Louisiana, Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, Corpus Christi, Refugio, and Austin, with many arriving for a breezy afternoon of practice.

Day 1: Sunny, 71, and our well known breeze slowly building. This year we used the Heat Management System, and seeding heats to split this large fleet into A and B groups, with the top 4 in A moving to B, and the top 4 in B moving to A after each heat. Skippers used an A sail for the first 2 heats then went to B, then C, with some skippers trying D rigs in the now gusting air and heavy chop.

Days end: For the first time we did not have a break point in the fleet. What we did have was a growing group of spectators in this city park, watching R5 RCL skippers in a lively competition, with Chris Macaluso in the lead, Mark Cooper 2nd, Todd Carrico, 3rd, and perennial champion Al Ross down to 4th!

Day 2: We briefly had a pod of dolphins at our feet, and the wind was waiting for us along with a mostly overcast sky, no rain. We started with B sails, soon switching to C as steady gusts dictated. At the end of the day we had run 36 heats without a single breakdown. Each skipper got 3 throw outs. Habit, focus and stamina were king, with exciting results. Mark Cooper became our new R5 RCL Champion, winning his first regatta after 23 years of racing! Al Ross sailed his way up to 2nd, and Chris Macaluso came in 3rd. Silver fleet honors again went to Richard Delgado at 1st, incredible RC novice Dax Thompson (Texas Radial Laser champion) at 2nd, and Bruce Wilson at 3rd. This leaves us wondering at the possibilities for the RC Laser Nationals happening at this exact venue this coming October!

Regatta Committee and Valuable Assistants: Regatta Manager and Leather Trophies – Michael Causey; Assistant Manager – Lauren Cantatore-Causey; Race Director – Sylvia Dimayuga; Course Director – Eric Gregory; Scorekeeper – Denise Delgado; Rescue – Jonathan Atwood and Walter Granberry; Registration – Mike Gale, Marilyn Beuershausen and Nara Pucci; Equipment Manager – Stephen Gregory; Regional Promotion – Ray Seta

2020 Saltwater Challenge RC Laser Results

Place Skipper Points
1 Mark Cooper 33
2 Al Ross 42
3 Chris Macaluso 45
4 Todd Carrico 60
5 Ray Seta 66
6 John Kuc 67
7 Bill Ross 78
8 Mauricio Dantes 92
9 Bob Piper 118
10 Richard Delgado 134.9
11 Dax Thompson 157
12 Bruce Wilson 170
13 Barry Beuershausen 182
14 Michael Causey 182
15 Jacob Granberry 186
16 Theresa Meyer 189
17 Mike Gale 256
18 Charlie West 259