Dave Brawner wins 2016 The Villages Winter Regatta

Ashland Pond, The Villages, FL
February 28, 2016

It’s a beautiful day In The Neighborhood

On what each skipper agreed was one of the best days of sailing, current RC Laser National champion Dave Brawner won Gold Fleet at The Villages Winter Regatta with a total of ten points. Second place went to RC Laser Class secretary Nick Mortgu with sixteen points followed by regatta host Alan Perkins with nineteen points. The regatta was sailed with A sails, with some stiff puffs burying the bows at times. The race committee had some course change challenges but the winds settled back to the original direction. Each skipper experienced sailing into holes that made the day challenging.

In the Silver fleet was local sailor Joe Devine who won with a tie breaker with three first place finishes over Steve Kenoyer. Both had a score of twenty three points. Third place finisher Freddie Sambolin scored twenty-nine points.

During the past year there have been many new RC Laser owners. It’s always nice to see new names on the score board. New skippers at this regatta were: Dorian Goldberg, Chris Dingle, Freddie Sambolin, Steve Kenoyer, and Geoffrey Harvey.

This was the second regatta in the RC Laser Southern Circuit. It was also this regatta’s first year in the circuit. The Villages Model Yacht Squadron members came out in force to help in all areas to make for a great regatta. Thank you to Alan and Liz Perkins for hosting the regatta and race director John Goldsworthy for giving time so we could enjoy our sport. A large support team made the regatta run flawlessly. Thank you Mike Vanover, Tony Lawrence, Brian Engle, Joe and Dodie Devine, Dan Pearce, Jim Kelly, John and Linda Hall, and JC Peck.

This regatta is now on the yearly schedule as part of the Southern Circuit. See you all next year!

Place Skipper Points
1 Dave Brawner 10
2 Nick Mortgu 16
3 Alan Perkins 19
4 Larry Lefczik 27
5 Chris Dingle 28
6 Steve Lippincott 29
7 Ray Szulczewski 30
8 Dorian Goldberg 32
Place Skipper Points
1 Joe Devine 23
2 Steve Kenoyer 23
3 Freddie Sambolin 29
4 Henry DeWolf 31
5 Dave Martens 40
6 Joan Lefczik 42
7 Geoffrey Harvey 48