North American Championships Announce Early Entrants

Regatta Chairman, Rick Ferguson, has staked out the lake with our new Championship banner. We are exactly a month away from the 2014 RC Laser North American Championship to be held at Lake Crabtree in Raleigh, NC in late September.At present the entry list has swelled to 22 as of August 28th. We have entries from the host Triangle Model YC in Raleigh, and all their top sailors have signed up as well as folks from New Jersey, Maryland, Florida, South Carolina and your state needs to be represented, too. Remember we will have two fleets with prizes for both as well as a great hoodie for the first 25 entrants. Jim Kaighin, the defending champion from the Bahamas, has not yet checked in (trying to free up his schedule) and it is hoped that he and others from the South (i.e. Marco + Coconut Creek + South Carolina) will have the time to join us in Raleigh. Here’s the impressive Bruce Kirby Trophy…it has room for your name!

Bruce Kirby trophy

For some pictures of the Lake Crabtree venue go to this link:

The individual link to the NOR and Sailing Instructions is here:

And the online registration is here:

Here’s the competitor list as of September 4th

Sail Number Skipper Location
11 Jacques Rioux Cary, NC
17 Richard Ferguson Raleigh, NC
21 Victor Oberg Westmont, NJ
33 John Tochko Oxford, MD
38 Michael Roberson Raleigh, NC
42 Bill Coates Charleston, SC
53 Geoffrey Cohen Indian Land, SC
55 Brian Grunert Durham, NC
57 Myles Loesel Pompano Beach, FL
16 Daniel Stomka Raleigh, NC
69 Mike Peart Cary, NC
72 Tom Rummage Garner, NC
75 Jim Kaighin Marsh Harbour, BA
79 Harry Henkel Easton, MD
80 Chase Thomas Cary, NC
82 Gerry Cobley Cary, NC
93 David Branning Tilghman, MD
96 Neil Saunders Raleigh, NC
99 Roger Baldwin Easton, MD
188 Sam Harris Raleigh, NC
657 Bob Szczepanski Raleigh, NC
3746 Cothran Harris Wilmington, NC