2019 Cold Turkey AMYA Region 2 Championship Regatta Report

by Mark Dadino

Raritan Yacht Club hosted its 2nd Cold Turkey regatta and was proud to also host the AMYA Region 2 Championship. This year’s championship regatta drew in 24 skippers from the NJ / PA / CT area. We had sunny skies, temperatures ranging 33 – 46 degrees, with winds 1-5 kts from the NNW shifting to a westerly in the afternoon.

Skippers competed in 3 seeding races and were divided into Gold and Silver fleets, completing a total of 9 races for the day. The course was windward-leeward with leeward gates. We utilized low-point scoring and had 1 throw out. The RYC Galley prepared a hot meal for the regatta with roasted turkey/stuffing/cranberry sauce sandwiches and minestrone soup along with homemade cookies for dessert.

Prizes were awarded to the top 4 skippers in the Gold fleet and the top 3 skippers in the Silver fleet. Congratulations to Frank Scalisi, this year’s recipient of the James Karr RC Laser Region 2 Championship Award!

I would like to thank all those who competed in our regatta and made it a fun day of racing! Many thanks to our race committee Steve Fronapfel (PRO), Commodore Dawn Daddino & Beth Hochberg (Scorekeepers), Past Commodore Mark Soldati (Rescue Boat), Frank Scalisi (Race Course), and Judy Bonanno (Photographer).

Link to Judy’s photos: https://judybonanno.smugmug.com/Sailing/LASER/Laser-Regattas/Cold-Turkey-11-30-19/

Summary of the 2019 Cold Turkey AMYA Region 2 Championship Regatta
Class: RC Laser
Date: November 30
Location: Raritan Yacht Club – Perth Amboy, NJ
Host Club: Raritan Yacht Club RC Laser Fleet (#375)
Entries: 24
Wind: NNW switching to a westerly 1-5 kts with gusts up to 7
Races Completed: 8, with 1 throw-out
Scoring: Low point, Gold – Silver

Regatta Committee: PRO, Steve Fronapfel; Scorekeepers, Commodore Dawn Daddino & Beth Hochberg; Rescue Boat, Past Commodore Mark Soldati; Photographer, Judy Bonanno; Organizer, Mark Daddino.

Place Skipper Points
1 Frank Scalisi 21
2 Jamey Betz 26
3 PC Eric Leitner 30
4 Nick Mortgu 33
5 Jim Flach 35
6 Fred DeSantis 36
7 Ray Szulczewski 38
8 Dave Branning 44
9 Bill Sysyn 45
10 Jeremy Macan 46
11 Kevin LeCompte 57
12 Harry Mote 60
Place Skipper Points
1 Greg Ryan 24
2 Konrad Richter 31
3 Dom Bonanno 40
4 PC Gary Myer 44
5 Mark Daddino 44
6 Greg Smith 48
7 Dennis Driscoll 51
8 Mark Rebovich 66
9 PC Eric Kolts 74
10 Paul Suzdak 75
11 Steve Scanlon 77
12 Ann Myer 83